Aliyah

Aliyah is a Hebrew word that means to “go up.” While originally it referred to ascending to Jerusalem to celebrate the Jewish Feasts, today it has come to mean the return of the Jews to the Land of Israel.

There are numerous Bible passages that indicate God’s plan to bring the children of Israel home. A passage from the prophet Isaiah is given as an example: “Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west. I will say to the north ‘Give them up!’ and to the south, ‘Do not hold them back.’ Bring my sons from afar and my daughters from the ends of the earth.”(Isaiah 43:5-6)

After the destruction of the Second Temple in Jerusalem in 70 AD, the Jewish people were dispersed in all parts of the world (diaspora), where they found themselves subjected to discrimination and persecution for many centuries, culminating in systematic murder in the Holocaust. Since the end of the 19th century, Jews have been returning to Eretz Israel in several waves through immigration, especially after the foundation of the state of Israel in 1948, and the collapse of the Soviet Union.

The ICEJ has assisted more than 150,000 Jews to make Aliyah to Israel. We support Jewish people in their preparation, flights, transportation and integration in Israel.

Alijah

Das Wort Alijah stammt aus dem Hebräischen und bedeutet „aufsteigen, hinaufziehen“. Es bezog sich ursprünglich darauf, nach Jerusalem hinaufzuziehen, um dort die jüdischen Feste zu feiern. Im heutigen Sprachgebrauch ist damit die Rückkehr der Juden in das Land Israel gemeint.

Es gibt zahlreiche Bibeltexte, die darauf hinweisen, dass Gott das jüdische Volk wieder in das Land der Väter zurückführt. Exemplarisch sei eine Stelle des Propheten Jesaja angeführt: “Fürchte dich nicht, denn ich bin mit dir! Vom Sonnenaufgang her werde ich deine Nachkommen bringen, und vom Sonnenuntergang her werde ich dich sammeln. Ich werde zum Norden sagen: Gib her!, und zum Süden: Halte nicht zurück! Bring meine Söhne von fern her und meine Töchter vom Ende der Erde” (Jes 43, 5f).

Das jüdische Volk wurde nach der Zerstörung des Zweiten Tempels in Jerusalem im Jahre 70 in alle Teile der Welt zerstreut (Diaspora) und war über viele Jahrhunderte Diskriminierung und Verfolgung ausgesetzt, welche einen Höhepunkt in der systematischen Ermordung im Holocaust fand. Seit dem Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts kehren die Juden in mehreren Einwanderungswellen wieder nach Eretz Israel zurück, insbesondere seit der Gründung des Staates 1948 und dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion.

Die ICEJ hat bis Ende 2019 mehr als 150.000 Juden geholfen, in ihre Heimat Israel zurückzukehren. Wir unterstützen sie bei der Vorbereitung, den Flügen, Transporten und bei der Integration in Israel.